OldComp.cz

Komunitní diskuzní fórum pro fanoušky historických počítačů


Právě je 27.02.2024, 00:14

Všechny časy jsou v UTC + 1 hodina [ Letní čas ]




Odeslat nové téma Odpovědět na téma  [ Příspěvků: 25 ]  Přejít na stránku Předchozí  1, 2
Autor Zpráva
PříspěvekNapsal: 11.02.2024, 23:56 
Offline
Kecka
Uživatelský avatar

Registrován: 18.01.2024, 15:02
Příspěvky: 26
Bydliště: Torino - Italy
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times
I hoped you could dump the disks directly from a PC.

TD0 is created with Teledisk, IMD with ImageDisk.
For DSK (EDSK) format you could use SamDisk or DskTool.
Otherwise AnaDisk should work too.
Most of the tools are for MSDOS, using windows can be a problem, at least a special driver is usually needed.
Disk dumps done in this way usually preserve the original sector numbering, etc..

If you have SCL or TRD, it can help but they usually are linear dumps. Perhaps the SCL one still has some information.


Nahoru
 Profil  
 
PříspěvekNapsal: 12.02.2024, 10:20 
Offline
Profík

Registrován: 26.11.2018, 16:59
Příspěvky: 573
Bydliště: Holešov
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 87 times
I am not sure if it will be even possible to image real floppy (after nearly 30 years), at this moment I dont have any MSDOS machine working...

SCL format is even more simplified then TRD format, it stores only headers and file-data, no track/sector info, image must always be 256 Bytes per sector and both are linear dumps for easy emulation

therefore I was never able to use LEC/CPM for Betadisk in any emulator


Nahoru
 Profil  
 
PříspěvekNapsal: 12.02.2024, 15:39 
Offline
Profík

Registrován: 26.11.2018, 16:59
Příspěvky: 573
Bydliště: Holešov
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 87 times
Install disk for LEC/CPM in TRD format - instalation is in Czech language only ! -> it will create Bootable floppy and format it.
to run this CP/M you need expanded memory paged on port $FD (minimum is 80kB), Betadisk modified as in magazine Mirobaze 8/89
This BIOS supports up to 1040kB RAM and 512kB ROMdisk


Přílohy:
inst cpm.zip [79.7 KiB]
11 krát
Nahoru
 Profil  
 
PříspěvekNapsal: 19.02.2024, 11:56 
Offline
Kecka
Uživatelský avatar

Registrován: 18.01.2024, 15:02
Příspěvky: 26
Bydliště: Torino - Italy
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Well if those disk images can't be managed by Teledisk, ImageDisk or similar tools it makes no sense to create an accurate image: it wouldn't be writable!

TRD or SCL would be fine
TRD or SCL would be fine.
adly I'm not aware of emulators supporting both the


Nahoru
 Profil  
 
PříspěvekNapsal: 19.02.2024, 18:46 
Offline
Kecka
Uživatelský avatar

Registrován: 18.01.2024, 15:02
Příspěvky: 26
Bydliště: Torino - Italy
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Sorry for the previous post, problems with the phone.
Thank you for the file, I'll try to squeeze out something from it.


Nahoru
 Profil  
 
PříspěvekNapsal: 19.02.2024, 20:29 
Offline
Profík

Registrován: 26.11.2018, 16:59
Příspěvky: 573
Bydliště: Holešov
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 87 times
i think it could be possible to create the image artificialy/manualy, but there will be no use for it... there is no emulator to use that kind of image


Nahoru
 Profil  
 
PříspěvekNapsal: 24.02.2024, 12:12 
Offline
Kecka
Uživatelský avatar

Registrován: 18.01.2024, 15:02
Příspěvky: 26
Bydliště: Torino - Italy
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times
I see. In many other cases the old computer owners are transferring their program using floppy disks. Considering that the tape format was considered useless, I'm wondering how a COM file is sent to the Spectrum, then?


Nahoru
 Profil  
 
PříspěvekNapsal: 24.02.2024, 13:43 
Offline
Pan Štábní
Uživatelský avatar

Registrován: 12.05.2013, 21:39
Příspěvky: 1952
Bydliště: Praha
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 254 times
Via gotek, it’s super easy.


Nahoru
 Profil  
 
PříspěvekNapsal: 24.02.2024, 14:46 
Offline
Pan Štábní
Uživatelský avatar

Registrován: 12.05.2013, 21:39
Příspěvky: 1952
Bydliště: Praha
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 254 times
As 100k described, there is a bit problem with betadisk's CP/M floppy format but not in all cases. The system disk has the first two tracks in TR-DOS format and remaining ones in CP/M. So in this case you need to use Gotek's "HFE" image format but it's hard to work with it on PC. But disk without system (non bootable) is different because the first two tracks are empty. They are reserved as well, but because you can ignore them, you can use simple "IMG" binary format for storing floppy image and so it's easy to work with it and transfer files into this image via some utility like (my favorite) CIM, https://pmd85.borik.net/wiki/CP/M_Image_Manager. For Betadisk's CP/M you can use this IMG definition:

[IMG]
SPT=72
XLT=0
BLS=2
EXM=0
DSM=350
DRM=127
OFF=2


And in attachment you can find two examples, HFE and IMG images with several basic CP/M files, both in Betadisk's CP/M format (HFE is bootable but I don't use it for file transfer, it's just an example).


Přílohy:
CPM_BETA.ZIP [442.22 KiB]
5 krát
Nahoru
 Profil  
 
PříspěvekNapsal: 25.02.2024, 09:26 
Offline
Kecka
Uživatelský avatar

Registrován: 18.01.2024, 15:02
Příspěvky: 26
Bydliště: Torino - Italy
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Wonderful, that's what I was looking for !


Nahoru
 Profil  
 
Zobrazit příspěvky za předchozí:  Seřadit podle  
Odeslat nové téma Odpovědět na téma  [ Příspěvků: 25 ]  Přejít na stránku Předchozí  1, 2

Všechny časy jsou v UTC + 1 hodina [ Letní čas ]


Kdo je online

Uživatelé procházející toto fórum: Žádní registrovaní uživatelé a 1 návštěvník


Nemůžete zakládat nová témata v tomto fóru
Nemůžete odpovídat v tomto fóru
Nemůžete upravovat své příspěvky v tomto fóru
Nemůžete mazat své příspěvky v tomto fóru
Nemůžete přikládat soubory v tomto fóru

Hledat:
Přejít na:  
Založeno na phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Český překlad – phpBB.cz